Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Abdellah Mesri's blog
18 février 2011

OUR CHILDREN

 

OUR CHILDREN

 

Why are children so implicated in wars today?

 

      Why are children, the future of our community, if not the world itself, being

singled out in today's wars?


      Paradoxically, it is precisely because they are so precious to us. To

destroy what is of highest value to someone is clearly an effective form of

terrorism: to kill and injure children is to rob a family or an entire group of its

future.


        And today, more than ever, children themselves are bearing weapons in

armed conflicts. Often, the young recruits undergo heavy indoctrination

mixing religious fervor with national pride to intensify the call of duty; school

and media reinforce the message. Handicapped children were used as

human mine detectors to explode mines in the path of advancing tanks.

      

         The lack of food and protection has turned, any a child into a soldier.

"I have a gun, food, and place to sleep," one nine-year-old Ugandan recently

told a member of the UNHCR,"that is more than I had in my village. If I'd

stayed there, I'd probably be dead by now."

 

Who should watch over children's rights?

            

       Despite all the past tragedies, there is still no viable structure, no

Amnesty International for children so to speak, to safeguard their basic

rights. No one can expect any of these organizations _the International

Committee of the Red Cross, the UNHCR _   to shoulder the burden alone.

The evidence must be much broader: the USA. As people and parents, as

members of professional and religious groups, and as citizens of nations and

the world, the obligation to ensure that children's rights are recognized and

protected is our own. 

 

Publicité
Commentaires
Abdellah Mesri's blog
  • Hello, I am Abdellah Mesri and 17 years old. I am an ACCESS PROGRAM and I study at Mly Ali Echerif high school , in Rich city. This blog is one of my ways to share with you all what concern me, my life, my eperiences... I hope you admire my blog.
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
Derniers commentaires
Archives
Albums Photos
Newsletter
Catégories
Publicité